Skip Navigation


NCFS - Home >> Fire Control & Prevention >> Fire Weather Reports

Fire Weather

Fire Weather Intelligence

The NC Fire Weather Intelligence Portal (FWIP) is now available. It is a "one stop shop" fire weather/fire danger site allowing users to view weather from all RAWS, Econet (SCO owned stations), and ASOS/AWOS (airport stations) found throughout the state.

All RAWS and most of the Econet stations will also show National Fire Danger Rating Index (NFDRS) values that are generated from edited observations from WIMS. Please note that only the Econet stations that NCFS Districts edit show NFDRS indices.

The main page of the site shows Current Conditions which shows 1300 NFDRS readings and hourly weather. There are two other tabs, Past Conditions, showing past weather and NFDRS data up to 10 years ago, and Forecast Conditions, displaying forecasted NFDRS indices generated from NWS and forecasted gridded weather data. While examining the map a user can click on the station's value and a meteogram with different display options will appear at the bottom of the screen, while details about the individual station will appear on the left.

The ERC meteogram is colored like the North Carolina Forest Service (NCFS) Fire Danger Pocket Cards, with each station having its own breakpoints, and showing a maximum line and current value line (good for tracking fire danger).

The FWIP is a collaborative effort between the NC State Climate Office (SCO) and the NCFS, with funding from the USFS.

Fire Weather Reports

All data from the National Weather Service.

Raleigh Zone (RAH) - Alamance, Anson, Chatham, Cumberland, Davidson, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, Orange, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Vance, Wake, Wayne, Wilson and Warren counties

Blacksburg Zone (RNK) - Ashe, Alleghany, Caswell, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes and Yadkin counties

Greenville/Spartanburg Zone (GSP) - Alexander, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Davie, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Macon, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rowan, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Union and Yancey counties

Wilmington Zone (ILM) - Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover, Pender and Robeson counties

Newport/Morehead City Zone (MHX) - Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Greene, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Onslow, Pamlico, Pitt, Tyrrell and Washington counties

Wakefield Zone (AKQ) - Bertie, Camden, Currituck, Chowan, Gates, Hertford, Northampton, Pasquotank and Perquimans counties

This page updated: Monday, March 6, 2017 11:16

Back to top